RSS Feed

Panda Cakemania

I had a nice long four day break this weekend. I spent some time at the beach with Daniel (yes, winter in Southern California means you can hang out the beach!) having a little picnic and spent time with my family. My sister was visiting from college and with her birthday being in two weeks, it was the perfect opportunity to whip up a cake. I thought about what the perfect cake would be for her and alas, I thought why not a panda cake. It’s her favorite animal and we’re always oohing and ahhing over cute fluffy animals like Boo the dog. If you don’t know Boo the dog, all you have to do is type in his name and a cute little, almost surreal looking puppy shows up. He is adorable! Anyway, back to the panda. When I start thinking about cakes, my mind begins to be consumed with thousands of ideas. Do I want the panda to be cartoon like or do I want it to be realistic (with frosting that looks like real hair)? I went online and searched blogs to see what cute ideas were out there and I found a panda cake that looked like Sanrio made it. I decided to use that as my initial design template. In the end, I ended up with this:Imagebut the cake started out looking like this:

ImageThe ears, limbs and bushy tail were made out of Girl Scout Thin Mints. Delish! Hope you had a lovely birthday sister! Can’t wait to make another cake. 🙂

About cookcraftcindy

I craft, I cook and I play.

Leave a Reply

