RSS Feed

Mmm mmm soup

I didn’t make Campbell’s tomato soup but I did make a soup that was mmm mmm delish. After having an 80+ degree weekend, Monday’s weather took a turn and became what most would regular winter weather. When it’s cold, I love to have a big heaping bowl of soup. I haven’t been in the mood for making soup that requires raw meat or anything. I wanted something hearty and with lots of vegetables. This soup didn’t have a lot of veggies but it had a good amount. It also had some pasta bits in it which made it delish.

I read two recipes on Allrecipes.com and ended up devising my own version of Minestrone. Just remember that when you make it, you gotta taste it too. I didn’t taste it until the next day at lunch which makes me a very bad chef!

Minestrone for two (enough to be entree)

Ingredients:

– Two stalks of celery (sliced thinly)

– A handful of baby carrots (sliced thinly)

– Five cups of chicken/vegetable broth

– One can of diced tomatoes (I think it was 14 oz.)

– One clove of garlic

– One tablespoon of olive oil

– Quarter of an onion diced (if you wish)

– A handful of pasta shells (or any small pasta)

Directions:

– Chop all of the vegetables and put them aside.

– Pour the olive oil into a stock pot and then pour the vegetables in on top of the oil. Let it cook for about ten minutes.

– Stir the stock and tomatoes into the stock pot. Bring everything to a boil and then let it simmer (with the pot cover on) for about 15 minutes.

– After 15 minutes, take the lid off and pour the pasta shells in. Let it boil (without the cover) for another ten minutes. Taste the soup to see if it’s too tart because of the tomatoes. You may want to either add more broth or water. Voila!

About cookcraftcindy

I craft, I cook and I play.

One response »

  1. Yum! Make this for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

