RSS Feed

LA Adventure

Every year there is the International Championship of A Capella which brings together college a capella groups from across the U.S. Daniel and I try our best not to miss it because we love to watch the best of the best sing their heart outs for a chance to make it to New York for the national competition. Even though I can’t carry a tune, I do enjoy hearing those that can. Before going to the show in LA, Daniel and I decided it would be a good opportunity to explore the foodie areas of LA. We don’t make it out to that area very often because the traffic just annoys us so when we do, we make the most of the day or two that we usually spend there. Daniel decided to take charge of the day’s adventures by planning out our site seeing and eating itinerary.

Daniel’s reason for picking the two places we ate at were because they ranked in the top ten Yelp places to eat in 2011 in the nation. We ate at Wurstküche and animal (yes, with a lower case a). I was surprised to find a long line of people at Wurstküche at 3 in the afternoon. Who eats lunch at that time? We were just getting a snack, so it was totally reasonable for us to be there ;). This place totally gets me. They specialize in German sausage and great beer. The combination is FANTASTIC. I don’t usually have a beer in the afternoon but this was a special occasion. When I read the menu, I didn’t even know where to begin. There were about ten different kinds of sausage that I could pick from but I was only hungry for one (so sad) that I felt like I had to pick the best one! I chose the mango, jalapeno and chicken sausage while Daniel went for the exotic rabbit and snake combo. I couldn’t bring myself to take more than one little bite of the one that he chose as I kept imagining the face of a snake staring me down. They are just really unattractive animals… I was quite content with my chicken sausage.

After stuffing ourselves with the sausages and beer, we headed to what we thought was LACMA but it was really the MOCA. They are two different places… but since we took a wrong turn, we ended up going on the Angels Flight trolley up to Angels Knoll park. This is the park where they filmed one scene from 500 Days of Summer. It had such a nice view of the downtown area so we took a moment to take it all in. Afterwards, we  headed to LACMA (the real one) and stumbled upon the La Brea Tar Pits. The eight year old in me yelped as I have never had the opportunity to go there when I was a child learning about it. I was really excited and explained to Daniel why all the excitement was there. We took some time walking around the park to look at the large art pieces. I’m glad to say I officially went to the Urban Light display and the tar pits. The Urban Light area was a lot smaller than I imagined it to be but it was still nice to see in person.

Interesting “spaghetti” like string display at the museum

After our sightseeing adventure, we headed over to animal. I had read about animal before on a blog but I still wasn’t sure what to expect. We went in to find a menu filled with lots of interesting animal parts from pig ears to veal brain. I like food but I don’t think I like it to the extent that I am willing to try weird animal parts (hence why I did not eat snake earlier in the day). I decided to go semi-vegetarian (still working on this in my every day lifestyle) and order the kale, baby broccoli and then quail (it’s very little meat!). The two green dishes satisfied my palette but I have to say, I wasn’t too fond of the quail. The quail was cooked well but I had a problem with the presentation. I just don’t think Greek yogurt should be used with any kind of meat type dish unless it was curry. The Greek yogurt was the foundation for the fruit that the quail laid on. Fruit and yogurt = parfait. My other two cents – this place is a bit steep on the pricing and hipster to the max.

Last thing of the LA day – acapella! Congrats to UCLA (my alma mater’s enemy) for making it to New York! They definitely deserved it. Daniel and I have watched them for the last three years and have seen them grow tremendously. They have the energy and the vocal chords that earned them the first place spot.

About cookcraftcindy

I craft, I cook and I play.

One response »

  1. Haha! The snake staring you down! “Don’t eat me!!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

