RSS Feed

I love my RR magazines

Well, there’s no avoiding it. I took a long hiatus from blogging because life got too busy. There were many great shareable moments from summer but to take the time to post and write, it’s nearly impossible. I’m going to take baby steps to start this process again. Let’s start with one soup that was really tasty!

I love subscribing to many cooking/home-style magazines: Southern Magazine, Food Network, Real Simple and Rachael Ray. I don’t have much time to read all of them but I always try to make something from my Rachael Ray (RR) magazine because her recipes are easy to make for a large group and they are tasty. The latest recipe she featured was chorizo and black bean soup. I’ve copied and pasted it below. This is for my soup making buddy Fab!

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon EVOO – Extra Virgin Olive Oil or vegetable oil
1/2 pound raw chorizo, casing removed and meat crumbled or chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 Serrano or jalapeño peppers, thinly sliced or chopped
3 to 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced or chopped
1 tablespoon ancho chili powder (a scant palmful) – I didn’t use this
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
Salt and pepper
2 15-ounce cans black beans, divided
3 cups chicken stock, divided
4 eggs – I didn’t use this
Optional toppings: I love cilantro so plenty of this!

Directions:
In a Dutch oven or heavy pot, heat the oil, 1 turn of the pan, over medium-high heat. Add the chorizo and cook until crisp at the edges, 2 minutes. Add the onion, chiles, garlic, chili powder, cumin and coriander; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, to toast the spices for a couple of minutes.

In a blender or food processor, purée 1 can beans and 1 cup chicken stock. Add purée to the Dutch oven along with the remaining 1 can beans and 2 cups stock. Simmer over medium-high heat for a few minutes to thicken. Then Bon Appetite!

20131007-132144.jpg

20131007-132210.jpg

20131007-132227.jpg

20131007-132245.jpg

About cookcraftcindy

I craft, I cook and I play.

Leave a Reply

