RSS Feed

The holidays are almost here!!

One of my favorite times of the year – Halloween – has come and gone. As I slowly take down my decor and store away my costume, my mind is all ready on to other craft projects for the holiday season. I don’t usually decorate for Thanksgiving but I am considering it this year. There may be a future post about that… In the meantime, I wanted to showcase some of the things I did in our home for Halloween and also show how inexpensive it can be to make your home feel festive. Below are some photos from around the home:

20131108-163447.jpg
This year Daniel and I decided to be Batman and Robin. He sported a pretty cool Batman shirt (with a cape). He made it easy by finding one at a local store. I on the other hand decided to create the entire costume like the one I’ve seen at Party City. I purchased some green silk fabric, a red shirt, and some felt. About two hours later and a lot of contemplating on how to sew something so that it doesn’t appear inside out, I created this outfit. It was a lot of fun being a superhero at work. In total, my costume cost about $16.

20131108-163744.jpg
This was one of my first projects for this year’s Halloween decor. I learned how to make a yarn wreath with one of my friends last year for Valentine’s Day. My goal is to create a wreath for each holiday of the year. This one took me about an hour and a half. It’s always great to pop in a movie when making a wreath as stringing the yarn around the foam takes a while. The best part is trying to figure out where to place all of your little pieces onto the wreath. In total, this project cost me about $10.

20131108-163422.jpg
This is my kitchen. This is where we had a full spread for our Halloween party. I decided to go with a chili dog bar so that everyone can build their own dogs. Although I don’t encourage eating a lot of hot dogs, I think it’s a great thing to serve when you are trying to feed about 25 people. On the island I was able to put out different little Halloween decor such as spiderwebs over plastic tablecloths and a couple other little things I found from the dollar store. I added some dimension on the island was by hiding some books underneath the tablecloth so that some plates stood a little bit higher than the others. Another thing that I did was put some fun labels on the condiment bottles. For instance, the ketchup said cyanide and mustard said crushed beetles.

20131108-170942.jpg
This is a prosciutto appetizer dish that I found on Pinterest. While I was wrapping the prosciutto around the plastic skull, I did begin to get a gagging feeling. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to eat any of the meat after finishing the whole thing. He was quite a hit and people kept eating his face. Barf.

20131108-163824.jpg
This next photo and the photo below show just a bit of decor that I put inside of the bathroom. I didn’t want to go overboard in a room that not many people were going to hang out inside of. The picture frames were a dollar a piece and I found the images on Pinterest. As for the decor that’s inside of the big bell jar, I found the skull and the bird at the dollar store as well and the large skeleton board. Then I bought some mini skulls and Halloween colored ornaments to put inside of a bowl. In total, it cost me about eight dollars to decorate the bathroom. The one thing that was a tad expensive in my bathroom was the pumpkin spiced soap. But I had to have it because the soap fit perfectly with the whole theme!!

20131108-133659.jpg

20131108-163847.jpg
This is an old chalkboard from our wedding that I up cycled to put outside to let the guests know to take off their shoes.

20131108-163905.jpg
This large cauldron was probably one of the most expensive things I purchased this Halloween. It was $16 and I wanted to put some drinks inside of it and make it smoky. Daniel didn’t want me to play with some dry ice so instead I just put a picture of sangria inside of it with a ladle and guests were able to scoop it into little goblets. Inside of the goblets I put some lychee with blueberry eyeballs to make it look like floating eyes.

20131108-163922.jpg
This is our TV area. I wish I had a fireplace mantle but for now my shelf will do. I put some cool spiderweb cloth over it and then I cut out little paper bats to put above the TV. This decor is very subtle but I think it really changes the space. The cost was about three dollars just for the cloth. I already owned everything else.

20131108-163944.jpg
This is one of the coolest finds that I found while on my shopping adventures. I found these two glittered pumpkins from Target for a dollar a piece. I took them home and then I taped them to the top of two candlesticks that I bought from the dollar tree. I also bought the little black cauldrons in a package of six and a tapered candle to make a bleeding candle in my wine bottle for two dollars. In total, this cost me six dollars. I didn’t glue the pumpkins to the candlesticks because I want to be able to repurpose my candlesticks for something later this holiday season.

20131108-163956.jpg
And this is the view from my corridor that is outside of our front door. It’s really the only space that I have to decorate outside of my home. I bought two tombstones from the dollar tree and then I put my little ghost that I had purchased last year. The newest thing in this hallway is the doormat. In total, everything in this hallway cost me $14 minus the wreath.

I can’t wait to bring everything back out next October and continue to craft new items to add to our Halloween collection. I’m really going to need a public storage facility to house all of my things as my garage can no longer hold any more decorations that I have.

About cookcraftcindy

I craft, I cook and I play.

One response »

  1. Such a bummer I missed the partay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

